The internet is in a buzz with upcoming WhatsApp feature, that is, the ability to delete and recall/revoke the message. If you are an avid WhatsApp user, then you would know that there is no way to delete a message which you accidentally sent to a wrong group or wrong person. Though you can long press a message and delete it but that would not delete or remove it from WhatsApp Groups or from the WhatsApp user account to which you had sent it.
Well, things are about to change, as spotted by WABetainfo, WhatsApp is rolling out a new version with a new feature “Delete For Everyone” for iOS, Android and Windows Phone OS based smartphones. As per WAbetainfo, the Delete for everyone will work with all kinds of messages including photos, videos, documents and obviously, text messages too.
As explained, you will have 7 minute until before you can delete a message for everyone, after that it won’t let you delete or recall a message. However, there are certain things that you will have to keep in mind, the user with older version of WhatsApp will be able to see your deleted message, since the delete for everyone will only work for those who using the latest version of WhatsApp. That means you need to be extra careful with users on symbian OS phones, for which WhatsApp no longer offering any updates.
Interestingly WhatsApp team has put a great thought into implementing “Delete For Everyone” feature and have also taken care of iOS and Android notification center from where users can still read your WhatsApp messages. On iOS, it would simply delete the message from the notification center while Android users will receive a message with the following text “This message was deleted for everyone”.
While the update is still rolling out, but if you are impatient and want to get your hands on “Delete For Everyone” feature right now, then here is apk download link.
P.S Do make sure to check your WhatsApp version, it should say WhatsApp Messenger Version 2.17.400