Twitter enables photo tagging, here’s how to turn it off

Photo tagging has become popular in social media — Facebook has long used this to allow users to identify someone in a particular image. For the most part, that isn’t a problem, as the people following you there are friends and family. Now Twitter has added the feature, and that is a different ballgame altogether

On Twitter, anyone can follow anyone else. Yes, you can set an account to “private” and lock this down, but almost nobody ever does that. So the implementation of photo-tagging on the social network can be a concern to some users, especially those with potential for having a stalker.

Fortunately, this can be turned off rather easily, but the user has to do it, as it is enabled by default. Here are the steps to take care of this.

Fire up your web browser of choice and head to the Twitter website and log into your account. Click on the gear icon at the top right and choose “Settings”, then tap “Security and Privacy” in the left column.

twitter-settings-menu

Scroll down to the privacy heading and you’ll find three options. By default, the one checked is “Allow anyone to tag me in photos”. You can switch this to either of the other two available choices — allowing only people you know to tag you, or preventing anyone from doing so.

That’s all there is to it. So, if you’re concerned about this change to Twitter, then head to the site to set things the way you wish.

RELATED:  Twitter for iPad is here with Gestures and New UI

Category

tags

Share this post

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.