Prevent Google From Using Your +1s and Comments in Ads

An update to Google’s Terms of Service means that online activity such as pages and posts you +1, comments you leave, and even your profiles picture could be used in advertisements.

The whole idea is referred to as Shared Endorsements, and it could reveal to your friends and contacts what you have been doing online. You may well prefer that this didn’t happen, and you’ll be pleased to hear that there are steps you can take.

It is actually quite a simple process to avoid your online activity from appearing in the ads that you, your friends and other people see. Start by paying a visit to Google’s Shared Endorsements website and sign into your account.

google_endorsed_ads_1

If you are interested in finding out a little more about the Shared Endorsement program, you can do so here. The pages explains just how your information could be used.

google_endorsed_ads_2

Scroll down to the bottom of the page and you will see a check box labelled “Based upon my activity, Google may show my name and profile photo in shared endorsements that appear in ads.”

google_endorsed_ads_3

Untick this box and click the Save button, and you’re done!

RELATED:  How to Improve your Windows Firewall by Adding 'TinyWall'

Category

tags

Share this post

1 thought on “Prevent Google From Using Your +1s and Comments in Ads”

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.